March 8

Hello.
I havn't been able to update in quite a long time.
I apologize for that, but my wifi here in the village is
unfortunately not as stable as I thought at first.
Today it's only 9 weeks left until Jesse comes over.
I hope they'll go fast, time goes slooowly in the village.
Last friday I owned teaching up sooo bad.
We did months, weekdays and days.
They knew that quite well, so I moved on to bodyparts.
They knew bodyparts pretty well aswell...
But I was getting suspicious. Did they really know what
they were saying? Or was it just them repeating and repeating?
So this is what I did.
I drew this enormous human body on the board.
The head, neck, shoulders, yeah everything.
To the most important bodyparts I drew lines, sort of like this.
O-- __
' '-- __
then I'd point at my head and say "head".
They'd repeat ofcourse, and I'd fill in the blank of the line with the word.
O-- Head
' ' -- ___
So that they could see where on the body it was and how it was spelled.
(If my body language and showing where the parts were on
my own body weren't enough. Haha!)
O-- Head
' ' -- Neck
etc.
They repeated ofcourse, we went over the spelling.
When they thought we were done, I erased all the words on the board.
Asked them if anyone wanted to come up and fill in one of the bodyparts
on the board. No one wanted to come up. surprise eh?
In both of my classes I have girls who are shy, but eager to try.
They were hesitating at first, but I make them go up and they do as I say.
Girl tries, gets it wrong at first, but I gently correct her mistake and let
her do it again, this time she gets it right. So I give her candy.
In chinese schools, this is very very odd, surprising and fun.
Now they ALL wanted to go up to the board. (because they knew they'd
get candy if they did.) Not only did it make them want to participate,
but it also caught their interest. Everyone took out their notebooks
without me asking them, started to take notes on every single thing.
So that they'd know how to spell it correctly if they got sent up to the board.
Which is nice because that is the way you learn, you learn things by being
interested, by putting your mind into it, by competing against others and
ofcourse by having fun at the same time.
When the bell rang they all cried out "nooooooooooooo".
Because they didn't want english class to end.
Even the kids who hated english class didn't want it to end.
So yeah, it was pretty cool.
Ofcourse I won't be using this tactic again in a long time.
I don't need to, because next time they're all gonna be
so eager and  excited, wondering what "foreign teacher"
will do/teach next/today.
If you use this tactic over and over and over again.
The candy or reward or whatever loses it's value and purpose.
So use it when you want to spark the classroom up a little.
Use it when it's something vital for them to learn.
Something that usually wouldn't be so much fun...
I spent this weekend in Yangshuo.
Hanging with John and Kajsa for the last time in a very long time.
I took Kristel (my new roomie in Fengyan Village) with me
because she hadn't been in Yangshou before and there was a
big chance that she wouldn't be able to go there in the future.
I wont be returning to Yangshuo next weekend, because I realised
that I spend crazy amounts of money when I'm there.
I had a really good time though, except for the fact that
I've been suffering from extreme pain. (period. :D!)
Which is weird, because I havn't felt that kind of pain while
on my period for a very long time. It would suck if it came back.
If it does, I only have one pill against it left, so I'd have to
ask my mum to send me pills PRONTO. Or else I will be stuck
in bed, not being able to move, not being able to do anything.
Sigh. It's horrible. Really. I wouldn't even wish for my worst
enemies to feel that kind of pain. It's just soooo bad.
Now I'm back in the village, went to sleep like 4 in the morning
last night because I couldn't stop talking to Jesse.
I stacked up on Oreos and pringles before returning to the village.
According to my plan they were supposed to last for 2 weeks.
I'm on my second day, and it's all gone.
(yes.. I did eat it all, by myself.. )
:(
I even offered Ricky my last oreo.
He was sooo happy. Then he walked away for 5 minutes.
The cookie was just there... on the table.. all alone.
I mean, why didn't Ricky eat it, it's his own fault.
Can't just leave cookies lying around.
Also, I got to chat with my mum on msn for a bit while in Yangshou.
man, took her atleast 6 minutes to type down "how are you".
She's soooo cute for trying, man.. I love her so much!
Hello.
I havn't been able to update in quite a long time.
I apologize for that, but my wifi here in the village is
unfortunately not as stable as I thought at first.

Today it's only 9 weeks left until Jesse comes over.
I hope they'll go fast, time goes slooowly in the village.
Last friday I owned teaching up sooo bad.
We did months, weekdays and days.

They knew that quite well, so I moved on to bodyparts.
They knew bodyparts pretty well aswell...
But I was getting suspicious. Did they really know what
they were saying? Or was it just them repeating and repeating?

So this is what I did.

I drew this enormous human body on the board.
The head, neck, shoulders, yeah everything.

To the most important bodyparts I drew lines, sort of like this.

O-- __
' '-- __

then I'd point at my head and say "head".
They'd repeat ofcourse, and I'd fill in the blank of the line with the word.

O-- Head
' ' -- ___

So that they could see where on the body it was and how it was spelled.
(If my body language and showing where the parts were on
my own body weren't enough. Haha!)

O-- Head
' ' -- Neck
etc.

They repeated ofcourse, we went over the spelling.
When they thought we were done, I erased all the words on the board.
Asked them if anyone wanted to come up and fill in one of the bodyparts
on the board. No one wanted to come up. surprise eh?

In both of my classes I have girls who are shy, but eager to try.
They were hesitating at first, but I make them go up and they do as I say.
Girl tries, gets it wrong at first, but I gently correct her mistake and let
her do it again, this time she gets it right. So I give her candy.

In chinese schools, this is very very odd, surprising and fun.
Now they ALL wanted to go up to the board. (because they knew they'd
get candy if they did.) Not only did it make them want to participate,
but it also caught their interest. Everyone took out their notebooks
without me asking them, started to take notes on every single thing.

So that they'd know how to spell it correctly if they got sent up to the board.
Which is nice because that is the way you learn, you learn things by being
interested, by putting your mind into it, by competing against others and
ofcourse by having fun at the same time.

When the bell rang they all cried out "nooooooooooooo".
Because they didn't want english class to end.
Even the kids who hated english class didn't want it to end.

So yeah, it was pretty cool.

Ofcourse I won't be using this tactic again in a long time.
I don't need to, because next time they're all gonna be
so eager and  excited, wondering what "foreign teacher"
will do/teach next/today.

If you use this tactic over and over and over again.
The candy or reward or whatever loses it's value and purpose.
So use it when you want to spark the classroom up a little.
Use it when it's something vital for them to learn.
Something that usually wouldn't be so much fun... 


I spent this weekend in Yangshuo.
Hanging with John and Kajsa for the last time in a very long time.
I took Kristel (my new roomie in Fengyan Village) with me
because she hadn't been in Yangshou before and there was a
big chance that she wouldn't be able to go there in the future.

I wont be returning to Yangshuo next weekend, because I realised
that I spend crazy amounts of money when I'm there.

I had a really good time though, except for the fact that
I've been suffering from extreme pain. (period. :D!)
Which is weird, because I havn't felt that kind of pain while
on my period for a very long time. It would suck if it came back.

If it does, I only have one pill against it left, so I'd have to
ask my mum to send me pills PRONTO. Or else I will be stuck
in bed, not being able to move, not being able to do anything.
Sigh. It's horrible. Really. I wouldn't even wish for my worst
enemies to feel that kind of pain. It's just soooo bad.

Now I'm back in the village, went to sleep like 4 in the morning
last night because I couldn't stop talking to Jesse.
I stacked up on Oreos and pringles before returning to the village.
According to my plan they were supposed to last for 2 weeks.
I'm on my second day, and it's all gone. 

(yes.. I did eat it all, by myself.. )

:(

I even offered Ricky my last oreo.
He was sooo happy. Then he walked away for 5 minutes.
The cookie was just there... on the table.. all alone.
I mean, why didn't Ricky eat it, it's his own fault.
Can't just leave cookies lying around.

Also, I got to chat with my mum on msn for a bit while in Yangshou.
man, took her atleast 6 minutes to type down "how are you".
She's soooo cute for trying, man.. I love her so much!

Kommentarer
Postat av: Emilia

ALLTSÅ!

Du äger, Maral! Kan se klassrummet framför mig :)

2010-03-09 @ 09:52:48

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0