March 4

Hey there!
I just got home from my second day of teaching.
I have 2 classes a day, both are age 11-12.
One is slightly better than the other.
They are all super cute, well not all, but most.
In my first class I was sort of nervous.
But it passed away pretty quickly.
I didn't spend too much time on my lesson plan
because I really thought it was rock solid.
I was wrong.
Time went by so much quicker than I thought.
They were better than expected but at the same
time worse than I could ever had imagined.
They can repeat and repeat and repeat.
They have no clue what they're saying though.
They have one english teacher, she doesn't even
understand or speak english. It's horrible.
They read their textbooks without knowing what
it means. So all I really do is fix their
horrible pronounciation, but they still don't
know what they are saying. If you move back
to more basic stuff, they already know that.
There is no way of communicating.
They can't understand me when I speak,
even if I use body language all the time
and speak slow,loud and clear. It's awful.
They probably think I'm weird because I use
so much body language, and all they really
do is repeat, because that's the way they've
been taught. Right? So if I ask them something
very basic, they just repeat my question instead
of answering it, with yes or no.
Which means that they don't understand what
the hell they are saying. Right? - Sigh....
How do I teach these kids?
It's extremely hard aswell because I don't speak
chinese, they said it wasn't necessary but I feel
that it would have been a handy quality to have.
It was alright though.
I improvised and it turned out pretty okay.
I also got an idea of what level they are on,
what they understand, what they're capable of, etc..
So for my second class I teached them animals.
Some they knew, some they didn't. Our warmup
consisted of me putting the chinese name of the
animal on the board.. for example:
yú =
and they'd ofcourse scream out "YÚ" because thats
what they do, they repeat and repeat and repeat.
and then I'd go "no, in English!"
and they'd be quiet.. then someone would with
hesitation say "f...fish".
me: "Yes! Very good! FISH!"
all of them: "FISH!!!!:D:D"
we did that with like 20 different animals.
They knew 15 of them pretty well, but 5 were
completely new to them, so we did what they
are best at, we repeated the animals for a
good 6 minutes or something. Sometimes I'd
be a little tricky and erase the english words
so they had to say them again. The ones they
had the hardest time to remember was:
Snake, Spider, Rat, Bird and Lion.
The main activity we did was pictionary.
They'd pick a note from my plasticbag,
and on the note there would be the
english name of an animal. If they were
unsure and didn't understand it, I'd let
the drawer know the chinese meaning.
When teams answered they had to raise their
hands and say the correct name of the animal
in english. Sometimes they got too excited and
would scream it out loud ofcourse, but they're
just kids, so it happens.
They had a lot of fun doing pictionary and at
the end of the lesson they all gave me presents.
(what the fuck????)
They gave me their notebooks, their pens, their
bracelets, drawings of flowers, gum, crackers...
hahaha.. I felt sooo bad. Like.. really bad.
But apparantly we shouldn't feel bad about
accepting gifts from them, but I mean..
How the hell can you not feel bad about that?
When a poor village kid gives you her favourite
pen, then.. yeah.. makes you feel so bad.
They refuse to take them back aswell..
Sigh, ah well.
Tomorrow we're doing bodyparts!
Now I gotta do my lessonplan for tomorrow!
Hey there!

I just got home from my second day of teaching.
I have 2 classes a day, both are age 11-12.
One is slightly better than the other.
They are all super cute, well not all, but most.

In my first class I was sort of nervous.
But it passed away pretty quickly.
I didn't spend too much time on my lesson plan
because I really thought it was rock solid.
I was wrong.

Time went by so much quicker than I thought.
They were better than expected but at the same
time worse than I could ever had imagined.
They can repeat and repeat and repeat.

They have no clue what they're saying though.
They have one english teacher, she doesn't even
understand or speak english. It's horrible.

They read their textbooks without knowing what
it means. (Not even their english teacher knows
what it means!) So all I really do is fix their
horrible pronounciation, but they still don't
know what they are saying. If you move back
to more basic stuff, they already know that.

There is no communication.
They can't understand me when I speak,
even if I use body language all the time
and speak slow,loud and clear. It's awful.

They probably think I'm weird because I use
so much body language, and all they really
do is repeat, because that's the way they've
been taught. Right? So if I ask them something
very basic, they just repeat my question instead
of answering it - with yes or no.

Which means that they don't understand what
the hell I and them are saying. Right? - Sigh....
How do I teach these kids?

It's extremely hard aswell because I don't speak
chinese, they said it wasn't necessary but I feel
that it would have been a handy quality to have.
It was alright though.

I improvised and it turned out pretty okay.
I also got an idea of what level they are on,
what they understand, what they're capable of, etc..


So for my second class I taught them animals.
Some they knew, some they didn't. Our warmup
consisted of me putting the chinese name of the
animal on the board.. for example:


yú =

and they'd ofcourse scream out "YÚ" because thats
what they do, they repeat and repeat and repeat.

and then I'd go "no, in English!"

They'd be quiet.. then someone would hesitate
but eventually say "f...fish".

me: "Yes! Very Good! FISH!"

all of them: "FISH!!!!:D:D"

we did that with like 20 different animals.
They knew 15 of them pretty well, but 5 were
completely new to them, so we did what they
are best at, we repeated the animals for a
good 6 minutes or something. Sometimes I'd
be a little tricky and erase the english words
so they had to say them again. The ones they
had the hardest time to remember was:
Snake, Spider, Rat, Bird and Lion.

The main activity we did was pictionary.
They'd pick a note from my plasticbag,
and on the note there would be the
english name of an animal. If they were
unsure and didn't understand it, I'd let
the drawer know the chinese meaning.

When teams answered they had to raise their
hands and say the correct name of the animal
in english. Sometimes they got too excited and
would scream it out loud ofcourse, but they're
just kids, so it happens.

They had a lot of fun doing pictionary and at
the end of the lesson they all gave me presents.
(what the fuck????)

They gave me their notebooks, their pens, their
bracelets, drawings of flowers, gum, crackers...
hahaha.. I felt sooo bad. Like.. really bad.

But apparantly we shouldn't feel bad about
accepting gifts from them, but I mean..
How the hell can you not feel bad about that?

When a poor village kid gives you her favourite
pen, then.. yeah.. makes you feel so bad.
They refuse to take them back aswell..
Sigh, ah well.

Tomorrow we're doing bodyparts!
Now I gotta do my lessonplan for tomorrow!
Take care (if you made it this far!)
- Some kids @ school in the village ! -

Kommentarer
Postat av: Simon

aww those kids are like paparazzi :D - difference is that you hold the camera and they stalk you xD

2010-03-04 @ 18:19:43
Postat av: Josefine

haha du är så duktig Maral!



Förövrigt, dom där barnen är som ankor, du vet när man matar en så kommer det jätte många och attakerar haha fruktansvärt söta!

2010-03-04 @ 20:04:09
Postat av: XeleX

"Tomorrow we're doing bodyparts!"

Will you do the body language thing when you will explain BOOBS and nipples ? and can I get a private lesson on that ?

2010-03-05 @ 18:13:07
Postat av: Anonym

hi@@

2010-10-09 @ 11:04:09

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0