March 21

Hey there!
Ricky is in Nanning right now,
he's coming back tomorrow.
Really hope his test went well.
When he's home we'll go apartment hunting.
I can stay here in the school if I want.
But I still want privacy and a great deal of
"alone time".
Hmm.. Not much has been happening.
Been hanging around Yangshou these days,
been meeting some really cool people.
I don't know, it's quite hard to explain,
but most of the travelers I've met sort of
have the same mentality.
A new guy arrives last week.
His name is Sean and he's Irish.
I think he's 21 or something.
We get along well and he's staying in China
for like 10 weeks. On wednesday he's going
to Fengyan Village, and he'll be spending the
rest of his time in China over there.
I decided I'd show him around Yangshou a bit.
So I took him to the meat market, showed him Kelly's.
Then we went to Lucy's where Henry showed us
how to play a cool chinese gambling game.
I won 4 out of 6 times, pretty pro.
The meatmarket was disgusting.
I wasn't allowed to take pictures
or record anything inside. I did get a picture though.
If you're sensitive you might wanna close your eyes
..or something. Or stop reading.
In the meatmarket you really lost all your apetite
for meat. Small cages with chickens walking ontop
of eachother. Cages with rabbits, etc. There were
no space for them or anything. I wasn't surprised
or anything, It was just very bad to look at.
Dogs in cages, and ontop of their cages were dead dogs..
I mean.. It was just a horrible environment.
You can even see it on the picture.
(The dead dog over the living dogs cage.)..
And the smell.. oh the horrible smell.
Hmm. A fish managed to escape haha and was
splashing on the floor "magikarp style".
Then a man came, took a bucket and just kicked
the fish as hard as he could into the bucket.
It was just.. strange to experience.
Me and Sean just started laughing, but we weren't
laughing because it was funny. We didn't
like it / enjoy it at all. We were laughing
because we were in chock and it was one of those
"you don't know wether to laugh or cry-moments".
And to think that this was nothing to whats
going on at other places around the world.
My mind can't even imagine it.
HAPPY NEW YEAR BTW! (Persian new year.)
Hope you all have a wonderful year full of happiness.
Love you all so much! Greetings from China.
Hey there!

Ricky is in Nanning right now,
he's coming back tomorrow.
Really hope his test went well.
When he's home we'll go apartment hunting.
I can stay here in the school if I want.
But I still want privacy and a great deal of
"alone time". 

Hmm.. Not much has been happening.
Been hanging around Yangshou these days,
been meeting some really cool people.
I don't know, it's quite hard to explain,
but most of the travelers I've met sort of
have the same mentality.

A new guy arrives last week.
His name is Sean and he's Irish.
I think he's 21 or something.
We get along well and he's staying in China
for like 10 weeks. On wednesday he's going
to Fengyan Village, and he'll be spending the
rest of his time in China over there.

I decided I'd show him around Yangshou a bit.
So I took him to the meat market, showed him Kelly's.
Then we went to Lucy's where Henry showed us
how to play a cool chinese gambling game.
I won 4 out of 6 times, pretty pro.


The meatmarket was disgusting.
I wasn't allowed to take pictures
or record anything inside. I did get a picture though.
If you're sensitive you might wanna close your eyes
..or something. Or stop reading.

In the meatmarket you really lost all your apetite
for meat. Small cages with chickens walking ontop
of eachother. Cages with rabbits, etc. There were
no space for them or anything. I wasn't surprised
or anything, It was just very bad to look at.
Dogs in cages, and ontop of their cages were dead dogs..
I mean.. It was just a horrible environment.
You can even see it on the picture.
(The dead dog over the living dogs cage.)..
And the smell.. oh the horrible smell.

Hmm. A fish managed to escape haha and was
splashing on the floor "magikarp style".
Then a man came, took a bucket and just kicked
the fish as hard as he could into the bucket.
It was just.. strange to experience.
Me and Sean just started laughing, but we weren't
laughing because it was funny. We didn't
like it / enjoy it at all. We were laughing
because we were in chock and it was one of those
"you don't know wether to laugh or cry-moments".

And to think that this was nothing to whats
going on at other places around the world.
My mind can't even imagine it.

Dogsinmeatmarket

HAPPY NEW YEAR BTW! (Persian new year.)
Hope you all have a wonderful year full of happiness.
Love you all so much! Greetings from China.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Tania Derveaux

Ok... lost my appetite again... my fault though. I couldn't stop reading, even after your warning :(



Nice wakeup call again! Makes me appreciate my day a lot more :o) Lucky bastards we are!



<3 and good luck with the apartement hunting!

2010-03-21 @ 12:57:44
Postat av: Oliver

Wo, not sure what to make of that meatmarket, looks pretty grim by our standards, quite a callous disregard for life. Then again they've got a different past, which included a great deal of famine in the 60s and 70s under the cultural revolution and Great Leap Forward, so it's a culture that's used to eating what they can and making it as accessible as possible, which that meatmarket achieves I guess. Still don't like it though.



Good luck with the apartment hunting, really glad to hear you're up-beat and lovin' it still =D



<33

2010-03-21 @ 13:48:52

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0