February 17

Hey.

Spent most of my day inside.
Really was hard getting out of bed.
Weather is extremely cold, manageable ofcourse.
Or else I wouldn't be alive, haha.

This is just a short input about my change of plans.

I came here doing the PT program.
Basically it means I'd be teaching english and get
paid for it, not much but just so I could be able to
survive here for 6 months, accomodation and food.. etc.
I later realised that as a foreign teacher you get paid
twice as much as a chinese teacher. Who does a lot
more work than you. I'm not saying PT is bad.
Ofcourse it's important and good. It is needed.
Please don't get me wrong.

I just feel that I don't need the money in order to survive.
The schools who hire you are schools with money.
Students with money, ofcourse they need help in english.
Because they don't learn properly with this kind of system.

BUT......

There are foreign teachers who need the money.
I don't. Besides.. what about all the kids without money?
The ones who cannot afford to go to these schools.
I feel... like I'm not needed. Like I'm a third wheel.
Extra weight on the ship. Get what I mean?

I came here with good intentions, but I also did this because
I knew that this was going to make me happy, kinda selfish.
But that's what life's about. You need to do the things that
make you happy. If that means you want to help people
then it's definitely a win/win-situation.

You can't help anyone else if you don't help yourself first.

So thats why I've decided to change my program to the
VT program. It means I won't get paid for the teaching.
But - I will get accomodation and food.
I'll be teaching kids who unfortunately don't have money
to go to these schools where they can afford foreign teachers.
I'll be spending time at orphanages, and I might be doing
homestays to teach they families kids english.

This was why I came to China. I wanted to do this.
I didn't come here to take advantage of the system,
because they really need foreign teachers. Wow.
I'm really going at it. Once again, I have to apologize.
Getting paid, is perfectly normal and nothing is wrong
with it, you definitely help out, it's just another approach.
I just don't think I'm suited for that particular approach.

Isabella did let me change my program. So I'm cool.
So glad about this!

Also, I forgot to upload a picture of my 3.5 dollar shoes..

5dollar

Kommentarer
Postat av: Saga

Fan vad bra maral! Jag håller tummarna för dig.



Och förresten människan är självisk av naturen men det behöver inte innebära att man trampar folk på tårna. Om du kan hjälpa någon och samtidigt själv bli glad.. Why not?



Många kramar! Saknar dig

2010-02-18 @ 10:22:13
URL: http://prettovarning.blogg.se/
Postat av: Saga

Fan vad bra maral! Jag håller tummarna för dig.



Och förresten människan är självisk av naturen men det behöver inte innebära att man trampar folk på tårna. Om du kan hjälpa någon och samtidigt själv bli glad.. Why not?



Många kramar! Saknar dig

2010-02-18 @ 10:26:20
URL: http://prettovarning.blogg.se/
Postat av: Simon

i appreciate your decision and i think it is already a great experience for you having realized that money and financial welfare isn't everything you shoul achieve in life :)



good luck with your future tasks and you can be proud of yourself

2010-02-18 @ 11:47:54
Postat av: Ernie

Bravo Maral!

2010-02-18 @ 16:50:31
URL: http://insomniacrants.com
Postat av: Tania

You rock! <3



I think it is really great you didn't chose the easy way... you knew what was right and just went for it... I think those kids will be happy to have you as their teacher :o)



I have the same shoes (also white) but the higher version (also fake ehhehe).



We don't need real labels since we rock at live :p

2010-03-17 @ 12:39:58
Postat av: A

okej ;d

2010-03-17 @ 13:05:25
URL: http://annnaaah.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0