February 16

Today was an early morning.
We got up and got ready for our 1.5 hour bussride
to a special little village named Fengyan Village.
Fengyan Village is the home of our projectleader
Isabella. She has, what I think is the biggest
house in the village and it is also the oldest one.
The village was extremely beautiful.
The people were so warm and welcoming.
It really was amazing. I can't wait to go back.
We arrived and got divided into 3 different groups.
The people in my group were:
Ricky
Patrik
John
Kajsa
Yaniv
Linnea
and Leo.
I have to say.. The people I hang with the most
is definitely Ricky (too obvious) and John.
We do most things together, group up together,
play games together, eat together, shop together.
Unfortunately Kajsa (Johns girlfriend) has been
very sick lately and havn't been able to
hang with us as much as we'd like her to,
but she's funny and awesome company when she's with us.
I really hope she stops getting ill all the time.
Really feel bad for her.
She's missing out on so many funny things.
Patrik has started to hang with us lately.
He's very funny and he's pretty good at fps games tbh.
So he kinda fits in, don't know if he eats as much as us,
but the dood has potential. He had a Kelly's burger with
us last night. So, I guess he's sorta joining in.
Obviously, I'm a bit close to Linnea since we share
the same bedtable and she's the one with her bed
closest to me. We get along perfectly well. So it's good.
Otherwise I'm kinda close with almost everyone in the group.
Hardly anyone is a stranger, so it's never awkward.
but my point was, that my group consisted of the people
I am absolutely closest to right now. Here in China.
First of we were invited to a villagers house were we
had one of 3 different kinds of their famous village tea.
The tea was called oil-tea and apparantly it is
very good and healthy for you.
It is made out of greentea, ginger, garlic and peanuts.
You had to drink 3 bowls of it, or else you'd be rude.
Beforehand Isabella warned us of the bitter taste and
everyone said we would dislike it. I have to say that
there were only 2 people in my group who werent very
fond of it. I, myself.. really really liked it.
Haha. I had 5 bowls. It was sooo good. You also put
something that looked like "rice crispies" in the bowl.
Was coolest ever.
We were in two houses. Under the first house there
was a cat under our table. Haha, I think Ricky was
the one who noticed. In the second house there was
a dog under our table, what are the odds?
I love animals so much. They are not very cuddly
over here though. I guess, they're not brought up
that way. They are more independent and in their
"real" element here, which is good for them, I think.
After the tea we went to the courtyard where a
basketball game was held. It was a game between
two villages. Our village lost with 2 points.
We got a big warm welcome and got the best seats to
watch the game. I really didn't mind standing up
but they insisted and Ricky told us to sit down
so I figured it would be rude or something if I
didn't take their seat. God the culture differences
can be so annoying. I feel like the biggest douchebag
sometimes. The fact that hardly anyone speaks
english doesn't make it easier. Haha.
After the game there was a Lion Dance.
Was pretty amazing to watch, one of the Lions
grabbed my foot and wanted to drag me out to the
court. I think I got it on film, but it's on Ricky's
camera and he's at the internetcafe playing L4D2 atm.
(I was sleeping when he, John and Patrik left)
So will have to wait a bit until I can upload that.
Internet here is so crappy aswell, so chances are
that I might not even be able to upload it. :(
After the Lion Dance we went back to the Old House.
Were we made about 600 dumplings, cooked them and
ate them. Omnomnom, dumplings are soooo goooooood.
Then it was time to take the bus back to Yangshuo.
The village was of very low standard.
I don't think I realise that people actually live
like this. I've seen it, but my eyes aren't making
the connection, it doesn't click. It's so surreal.
It's so different to our everyday life. I guess
somehow.. I don't want to believe it.
But it is real. It is reality. Sigh.
Somehow though, I like this place.
I am drawn to it. It IS attractive.
Because even if it's different.
Even if they don't have all those things we do.
(Which we take for granted, ofcourse)
They have some things that we don't have.
In the end if you compare the two,
they have everything I value in life.
Loads of it.
It's like we are living in a fake world.
A dream world. We have so much, yet we are unhappy.
We are so freaking spoiled, it's incredible.
Some of us are so gone, so fucked up in our heads.
They have so little, but they are fine?
I guess I can't say but by what I've experienced
so far, they probably have healthier and clearer
minds than we do in the western world.
Shame on us.
Today was an early morning.
We got up and got ready for our 1.5 hour bussride
to a special little village named Fengyan Village.

Fengyan Village is the home of our projectleader
Isabella. She has, what I think is the biggest
house in the village and it is also the oldest one.

The village was extremely beautiful.
The people were so warm and welcoming.
It really was amazing. I can't wait to go back.

We arrived and got divided into 3 different groups.
The people in my group were:

Ricky
Patrik
John
Kajsa
Yaniv
Linnea
and Leo.

I have to say.. The people I hang with the most
are definitely Ricky (too obvious) and John.
We do most things together, group up together,
play games together, eat together, shop together.

Unfortunately Kajsa (Johns girlfriend) has been
very sick lately and havn't been able to
hang with us as much as we'd like her to,
but she's funny and awesome company when she's with us.
I really hope she stops getting ill all the time.
Really feel bad for her.
She's missing out on so many funny things.

Patrik has started to hang with us lately.
He's very funny and he's pretty good at fps games tbh.
So he kinda fits in, don't know if he eats as much as us,
but the dood has potential. He had a Kelly's burger with
us last night. So, I guess he's sorta joining in.

Obviously, I'm a bit close to Linnea since we share
the same bedtable and she's the one with her bed
closest to me. We get along perfectly well. So it's good.

Otherwise I'm kinda close with almost everyone in the group.
Hardly anyone is a stranger, so it's never awkward.
but my point was, that my group consisted of the people
I am absolutely closest to right now. Here in China.

First of we were invited to a villagers house were we
had one of 3 different kinds of their famous village tea.

The tea was called oil-tea and apparantly it is
very good and healthy for you.
It is made out of greentea, ginger, garlic and peanuts.
You had to drink 3 bowls of it, or else you'd be rude.
Beforehand Isabella warned us of the bitter taste and
everyone said we would dislike it. I have to say that
there were only 2 people in my group who werent very
fond of it. I, myself.. really really liked it.
Haha. I had 5 bowls. It was sooo good. You also put
something that looked like "rice crispies" in the bowl.
Was coolest ever.


okokokok

Chinese dude making oil tea.


We were in two houses. Under the first house there
was a cat under our table. Haha, I think Ricky was
the one who noticed. In the second house there was
a dog under our table, what are the odds?
I love animals so much. They are not very cuddly
over here though. I guess, they're not brought up
that way. They are more independent and in their
"real" element here, which is good for them, I think.

After the tea we went to the courtyard where a
basketball game was held. It was a game between
two villages. Our village lost with 2 points.
We got a big warm welcome and got the best seats to
watch the game. I really didn't mind standing up
but they insisted and Ricky told us to sit down
so I figured it would be rude or something if I
didn't take their seat. God the culture differences
can be so annoying. I feel like the biggest douchebag
sometimes. The fact that hardly anyone speaks
english doesn't make it easier. Haha.


village1


After the game there was a Lion Dance.
Was pretty amazing to watch, one of the Lions
grabbed my foot and wanted to drag me out to the
court. I think I got it on film, but it's on Ricky's
camera and he's at the internetcafe playing L4D2 atm.
(I was sleeping when he, John and Patrik left)

So will have to wait a bit until I can upload that.
Internet here is so crappy aswell, so chances are
that I might not even be able to upload it. :(

After the Lion Dance we went back to the Old House.
Were we made about 600 dumplings, cooked them and
ate them. Omnomnom, dumplings are soooo goooooood.
Then it was time to take the bus back to Yangshuo.


villagekids


The village was of very low standard.
I don't think I realise that people actually live
like this. I've seen it, but my eyes aren't making
the connection, it doesn't click. It's so surreal.
It's so different to our everyday life. I guess
somehow.. I don't want to believe it.

But it is real. It is reality. Sigh.
Somehow though, I like this place.
I am drawn to it. It IS attractive.

Because even if it's different.
Even if they don't have all those things we do.
(Which we take for granted, ofcourse)
They have some things that we don't have.

In the end if you compare the two,
they have everything I value in life.

Loads of it.



It's like we are living in a fake world.
A dream world. We have so much, yet we are unhappy.
We are so freaking spoiled, it's incredible.
Some of us are so gone, so fucked up in our heads.
They have so little, but they are fine?
I guess I can't say but by what I've experienced
so far, they probably have healthier and clearer
minds than we do in the western world.

Shame on us.

Kommentarer
Postat av: XeleX

600 dumplings and all nom nom nom ? Maral you are getting FAT ! plz don't turn into a blob monster :-/

2010-02-17 @ 19:44:59
Postat av: Ernie

Lol those chinese girls are doing your traditional pose, did you make them do that?

2010-02-18 @ 16:13:08
URL: http://insomniacrants.com
Postat av: Maral

Ernie, thats so cool of you 2 notice. I actually did make them do that. hahaha.

2010-02-18 @ 16:45:22
URL: http://maralinchina.blogg.se/
Postat av: Tania

Amen! :o)



I think we are spoiled indeed... we are also too busy with trying to get more all the time...



Thanks for reminding me again :o)

2010-03-17 @ 12:24:10

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0